Remembering New and Old

With my review of work I am remembering teachers of the past. Bruce Butterfield was a remarkable teacher. I did not look forward to seeing the red marks on my paper, but I did enjoy his teaching style. I took American Literature with him so you could say that he influenced my concentration into graduate school! December 2017 Obituary | Bruce A. Butterfield | R. W. Walker Funeral Home (rwwalkerfh.com)

Writing about the Landscape ‘93 https://luannewilliams.wordpress.com/2017/10/03/american-literature/

Communion with the Landscape featuring Pamela Morgan’s art 12/92 https://luannewilliams.wordpress.com/2017/09/29/communion-with-the-spirit-of-the-landscape/

I recall my research 1600s and 1700s elegies. Tracing women and their representations on tombstones was haunting and puzzling. “Searching” through these markers to find a beloved to pay respects and to honor their presence on this earth is always a journey, a walk with the dead, a close encounter of life and death, a discovery of what is constant and infinite compared to brief and elusive. This elegy remembers David Olney, a new musical artist to me, but certainly an artist! I am getting to know Mark Wagenaar too. twitter.com/rattlemag/status/1221461122504478720

Author: luannewilliams

Writer

Leave a comment